Justin PBG

I was born on June 11th, 1986, in Manhattan, New York. 

My dad lived (and still lives) on the West Side, near Lincoln Center, and he's a "consultant," or perhaps an assassin.

My mother lived in Carroll Gardens when I was born (which is really funny because her name is Carol - okay, maybe it's not that funny), then we moved to Brooklyn Heights, and then out to Midwood when she married my stepdad and had my sister.

I went to Saint Ann's School for 14 years, and little though I may have appreciated it at the time, I truly value and respect my educational upbringing and its emphasis on creativity and self-expression. The more time I spend as an educator, the more I cherish Saint Ann's. 

I went to Princeton - which taught me a lot socially, and helped me learn how to work really hard for a long period of time - and then immaturely ran away from investment banking jobs and sat squarely on my dad's couch until I went to South Korea on a whim and became a teacher, in title if not in any real professional sense, considering I had no idea what on earth I was doing.

I learned on the job and became a competent enough educator to realize I wasn't as competent as I could or should have been. So I came home, and started my Masters at The New School, which I finished in 2012.

At the same time, I started to build a very solid and loyal group of friends, and I took pains to make myself healthier in mind and body. I ran a (makeshift) marathon in 2012, and an official marathon in 2013 (3:20:06), and then I beat that time in 2014 (3:00:53) and qualified for Boston. And then I came back and ran 2:56 in Chicago in 2015, follow by 2:58 three weeks later in NYC. (I haven't beaten this since then! But I've run two more.)

I do my best to cook healthy meals, and cigarettes are bad so stop smoking all of you. I do enjoy a nice drink, though.

I love education, trivia (particularly about geography, pop culture, and baseball) , fitness, my friends, and progressive values, particularly equal treatment for the underprivileged.

I currently work in adult education in NYC. I married a beautiful woman on April 1st, 2016. And I'm happy, mostly.

This is my site. Feel free to stay as long as you want. I will do my best to make it worth your time.

 

 


"Every run is a work of art, a drawing on each day's canvas. Some runs are shouts and some runs are whispers. Some runs are eulogies and others celebrations. When you're angry, a run can be a sharp slap in the face. When happy, a run is your song. And when your running progresses enough to become the chrysalis through which your life is viewed, motivation is almost beside the point. Rather, it's running that motivates you for everything else the day holds."

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Comment

Justin Gerald

Age: 28 Hometown: NYC Location: NYC Career: Education Undergrad: Princeton Grad: New School Likes: Cooking, Baseball, Socializing, Parks, Pop Culture, Feminism Loves: Traveling, Running, Lifting, Trivia, Teaching, Equality